The Mei Affect

I thought you said your name was “Ray” like a ray of sunshine. You were just supposed to be another name on my contact list. We were going to volunteer our time making the world a better place. The plans were altered and now in addition to volunteering, I spend my time picnicking in the woods and sharing pâté, crusty bread and IPA’s at the local market with you.

Before I knew you, I was content being by myself. I had embraced the hollowness inside my chest as normal. I spent my time alone in coffee shops and took pictures of my travels for people I did not know. Now I take pictures of empty plates, and often I am so wrapped up in the moment I forget to take pictures.

I made plans before I met you. I had looked forward to solitude in the woods. I still look forward the next chapter of my journey. But I will miss sharing these moments with you.

Leave a comment